Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

How are you celebrating Earth Day?

Today is Earth Day. What are you doing to honor our planet?

earth-day

I’m a vegan who uses almost exclusively natural products and recycles every damn thing in her apartment. Everything, even, like, cereal boxes or any packaging food comes in at the grocery store. I read the ingredients of everything I buy and try not to buy grocery items with, say, palm oil, in them because to get that oil, we’ve got to chop down trees, the habitat for many other animals including endangered orangutans.

So obviously I give a shit about Earth Day and wish people thought about this kind of thing every day.

What do you do? Today and everyday. What do you now and what are your goals?

I really want to know. It’s not a rhetorical question. Go ahead, brag. Or confess, as the case may be.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “How are you celebrating Earth Day?

  1. By listening to ‘Black Betty’ by Ram Jam on Youtube… No, there’s no correlation.

    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_type=&search_query=ram+jam+black+betty&aq=0&oq=Ram+jam

  2. Mike Licht on said:

    Earth Day 2009: our long global cow flatulence nightmare is over.

    See

    http://notionscapital.wordpress.com/2009/04/22/earth-day-2009/

  3. I’m similar to you. My one downfall is long showers, and I’m trying trying TRYING to cut them down. Dang.

    I compost. I’m vegan. I recycle everything. I don’t own a car. If I did own a car, it would be a hybrid. I walk as much as I can. I try to eat locally, which will be easier when the farmers market starts carrying things other than winter vegetables. I make my own kombucha, bottled in reused containers. I celebrate Earth Day every day and pay attention to animals’ rights as much as I do humans’. I buy carbon credits from terrapass when I travel.

    I am a hippie.

  4. Gina you’ve always gave a damn about issues. Even during your HS yrs at Gibbs. My children and I grow our own veggies, recycle everything, and try to make everything from scratch. We take the recycling thing so far we reclaim old materials from 100 yr old homes and repurpose them. WE don’t use store bought cleaners, we make our own. So happy Earth Day. Let’s do more, by using less.

Leave a Reply

