Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

“Rhoda” on DVD, at long last

Thank Christ! I have griped very publicly about the fact that television’s Rhoda is not availbale on DVD. So imagine my joy when I just checked Amazon again (I’m obsessed) and learned the season one discs will be released April 21.

rhoda_s1

Hallelujah!

The series showed us Rhoda’s life after she left Minneapolis (and The Mary Tyler Moore Show) to follow her dream of being a high profile window dresser in the Big Apple. It starred, of course, Valerie Harper as Rhoda, but also future Simpsons voice star Julie Kavner as Rhoda’s little sis Brenda and the incomparable Nancy Walker as their lovably overbearing mother Ida.

The show featured guest spots from many of Rhoda’s friends back in Minneapolis including Mary Tyler Moore, Cloris Leachman, Ed Asner and Gavin Macleod and also showcased future stars like Judd Hirsch, and the late John Ritter and Ron Silver.

Do you love Rhoda? I can only vaguely remember watching this show in the 1970s. I was but a wee child so I’m super excited to experience it again!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on ““Rhoda” on DVD, at long last

  1. Kevin Croitz on said:

    I remember Rhoda, she was hip, have to add this to my netflix

  2. I loved this show!! She had the coolest outfits and I thought that she was so pretty!

  3. I love Rhoda, she is the best, I loved watching Rhoda on Foxtel and then, guess what, they stopped it. I was so disappointed. I truly think Rhoda was a better show than The Mary Tyler Moore Show. So glad it’s on DVD. Long live Rhoda

Leave a Reply

