Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Books I read in Florida

While I was in Florida I read five books, most of them graphic novels, so it wasn’t as impressive as it sounds. Here they are, in order, the last five books I read:

(1) Watchmen by Alan Moore and David Gibbons. Yes, just in time for the movie. Aren’t I trendy? It was every bit as good as I had heard it was:

watchmen1

(2) Batman: Year One by Frank Miller and David Mazzucchelli. Way too late for the Dark Knight film that came out last year, but I’m glad I’ve now experienced both although this book only covers the first part of the movie. Also: Commissioner Gordon cheats on his (pregnant) wife?!

batman_year_one-hc1

(3) The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, not just one of the greatest graphic novels I’ve read, but one of the greatest books, period. It’s Satrapi’s memoir of growing up in modern Iran during the Islamic Revolution. I also borrowed but have not yet viewed a copy of the 2007 film based on the book, which Satrapi wrote, animated and directed herself. The book was especially interesting to me because the author and I are only a year apart in age. I related so well to her character because she was opinionated, rebellious and she loved pop culture and punk rock. Only I was able, in my country, to express all that. She wasn’t. Fascinating. Very highly recommended.

persepolis

(4) The Secret Art of Dr. Seuss. See? This one didn’t even have words (other than an introduction by Maurice Sendak):

secret-art-of-dr-seuss

(5) Blues People: Negro Music in White America by Leroi Jones (who now calls himself Amiri Baraka), a great book chronicling the history of black folks in this country, from slavery to mid-20th century, and how it affected music and spawned at least two unique genres, blues and jazz. A great book.

068818474x01_sclzzzzzzz_

What have you been reading?

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Books I read in Florida

  1. Kevin Croitz on said:

    I’ve never got into graphic novels, perhaps now I’ll give them a whirl, I’ve been reading the Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien, Tolkiens Bible basically, lots of epic fantasy great stuff, Escape from Hell, by Larry Niven, a squel to his book Inferno, a modern day trip through hell, this time a scifi writer talks of his travels through hell with Sylvia Plath who resides there herself, and finally I’m reading The Book of Tea by Kakuzo Okakura, the blueprint for enjoying Japanese tea, Kevin

  2. YoBimbo on said:

    I’m working on The Wordy Shipmates. 🙂

  3. ginavivinetto on said:

    Ooh! is The Wordy Shipmate good? I didn’t read Assassination Vacation but I loved the first two (actually three if you count Radio On).

  4. Go get “Persepolis”,the movie right now! I absolutely loved it.You will too.

  5. ginavivinetto on said:

    I just said I borrowed a copy of the movie “Persepolis”!

  6. Mindy on said:

    I meant go watch it now! It’s so good!

  7. YoBimbo on said:

    Wordy Shipmates is okay, but I liked Assassination Vacation much better. I’ll loan WS to you after I let Courtney read it.

Leave a Reply

