Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Who’s watching The Oscars?

I watch it every year. Tonight we’re having our annual Academy Awards “party.” It’s a bit more intimate than in years past since we only have a half dozen friends in D.C. We prepared a small feast (with vegan truffles!) and our friends Dustin and Bray are coming over.

2889580131_d9775ff4ae

Watching the Oscars with my mom was a tradition that continued well into my adulthood. My more recent Oscar memories run the gamut: in 2006 I had been in an intensive care unit for quite a long time and doing really badly. However, that did not stop my nurse from whisking me upstairs to a private room on the eve of the Oscars so I wouldn’t miss the ceremony. It was a welcome break from the sound of medical machinery beeping and people screaming “Code blue! Code blue!” on either side of me.

At one of our huge Oscar parties in Florida, I was the lucky winner of the Oscar bet game –I guessed the most winners– and took home the distinguished prize: an autographed picture of Loni Anderson. It was made out to a couple (“To Susie and David”) that none of us knew.

Do you watch the telecast? At a party or by yourself?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Who’s watching The Oscars?

  1. Kevin Croitz on said:

    sippin the vino and watching, loved the speeches for equal rights, loved Jerry Lewis what a mensch, loved the stage and all the crystal, and Hugh Jackman did a bang up job

  2. OMG, the Loni Anderson photo!
    That year I took home a Furby.

  3. I had a small shindig at my place, Mike Roberts was one of my guests so there were plenty of snarky comments to go around…we didn’t like Jackman hosting,the ceremony was too campy.

  4. Forgot to mention my best dressed award: P. Seymour Hoffman and his skull/ski cap.Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

