Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

I’ve been negligent. Blame Barbara Walters.

I haven’t posted in three days because I can’t put down this damn book:

269249621

My friend Margaret gave me her copy of Barbara Walters‘ memoir Audition after she finished it. I picked it up last week and I’m halfway through already. It’s a great read, really personal and filled with interesting first-hand accounts of history happening. Barbara writes candidly of her erratic upbringing – she was the daughter of a showbiz entrepreneur whose luck ran hot and cold – and of her interactions with giants of the 20th century, both politicians and celebrities.

I really enjoyed the sections on her interviewing Cuban leader Fidel Castro and the groundbreaking joint interview with Egyptian president Anwar Sadat and Israeli Prime Minister Menachem Begin. Thirty years ago those two dreamed of peace in the Middle East. Seems like a fantasy now.

It was also interesting to read about how bad NBC screwed her over throughout her career. Wow. It’s great to be a groundbreaker — Barbara was not only the first female co-host of the Today show, she was later the first female evening news anchor (for ABC) — but she had to pay for it along the way.

Looking for a warm, witty eyewitness account of the latter half of the 20th century? I’ll lend you Audition when I’m done.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I’ve been negligent. Blame Barbara Walters.

  1. YoBimbo on said:

    If you were a twee, what kind of twee would you be?

  2. YoBimbo on said:

    (I just found out she didn’t really ask that question, but I still amuse myself by saying it that way.)

Leave a Reply

