Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Let’s vote: Wacky Packages or Garbage Pail Kids?

I thought the Wacky Packages sticker series was so droll when I was a child growing up in the 1970s. Remember these?

wacky_packaged_fridge

But then, even at a young age I was a fan of satire. In the third grade I wrote a very clever play about my classmates that my teacher had me read aloud. I switched my fellow pupils’ names to be jokey. Eric St. Alman became Eric St. Pecan and so on. (The wit! Surely I would be a future “Shouts and Murmurs” contributor!)

Later, in the mid- 1980s, came the Garbage Pail Kids, which I did not find as amusing. They seemed to lack the comedic sophistication, if you will, of Wacky Packages.

win-pictures-garbage-pail-kids

But let’s not be snobbish. We’ll leave it to a vote: Wacky Packages or Garbage Pail Kids?

Interestingly, both card lines were created by some very big names in comic books including Bill Griffith (Zippy The Pinhead) and Art Spiegelman (Maus).

UPDATE: Freaking Bill Griffith left a comment! See for yourself!

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Let’s vote: Wacky Packages or Garbage Pail Kids?

  1. Can’t I vote for both? I say it’s a tie.

  2. For the record—While I was one of the creators of Wacky Packages, I had nothing to do with Garbage Pail Kids.
    -Bill G.

  3. ginavivinetto on said:

    I AM NOT WORTHY!!!
    Bill Griffith, ladies and gentlemen!!!

  4. OK, where the hell are you, Art Spiegelman? C’mon.

    I was a huge Wacky Packages fan. My buddy Tom and I used to make up our own. I still have a drawing somewhere of my Spitz Beer can (Schlitz, yeah?) that I’ll post if I can find it. The ingredients, of course, were “100% saliva.” My god, we were such clever children.

  5. ginavivinetto on said:

    I hope Mr. Griffith noticed that I myself said the Wacky Packages series was far more sublime than the Garbage Pail Kids.

  6. Oh, Wacky Packages, hands down. I’d say that even without Bill Griffith virtually looking over my shoulder.

  7. Love me some wacky packages. I use to ride my stingray with the cheater slicks ( until a neighbor stole it) down to my local 7 eleven on saturday mornings with money I saved during the week and buy those. Still have some from the first series.

  8. Pingback: My Amazon order arrived! « Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

  9. Wacky Packages, absolutely! Garbage Pail Kids could’ve been amusing, but most kind of missed the mark.

  10. Wackys for me. I do remember the garbage pail kids coming out and their strange art and names did have some intrigue, but something about the Wackys stayed with me from age 7 to 37.

  11. Les Steinberg on said:

    Wacky Packages ….

Leave a Reply

