Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

KD Lang is performing tonight

KD Lang is performing tonight in the DC area and, while I’m not attending the show, I’ve had the pleasure of seeing her perform twice before and I even got that chance to interview her four years ago. I think KD is a phenomenal talent and a great person and as a member of the queer community (and a vegetarian), I certainly owe her a great debt for living her life authentically.

Here’s a video of KD singing Leonard Cohen‘s beautiful “Hallelujah” :

Among the subjects KD and I breezed through were her cooking prowess, her strict no lip-synching policy, her thoughts on the (at the time) controversial “lesbian kiss” between Madonna and Britney Spears at the MTV Music Video Awards, her favorite women in history (Amelia Earhart, Mother Teresa, Mary Magdalene) and her first rock ‘n’ roll crush.

KD was as much a delight to talk to as she is to listen to. If you want to read the whole piece, go here. Please remember that I wrote these Q&A’s clearly, but, unfortunately, they were archived with little to no attention to my bold-type question and answer format. But, you’re not dumb, you’ll figure it out.

And, have fun tonight if you’re seeing KD perform.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “KD Lang is performing tonight

  1. Kevin Croitz on said:

    I saw her and Tony Bennett, back in 2001 in Raleigh, it was the last concert me and my Mom went to before my Mom passed away. We had a great time sat up on the grass at the ampitheatre sipping beers staring up at the stars, and hearing the great standards being sung. KD’s voice is phenominal, Kevin

  2. That’s weird – I went to a Tony Bennett concert with my mom right before she died, too. (KD was not performing).

  3. Went to the concert last night.

    Loved her.

    Wanted to take her home with me.

  4. omg. That interview reminded me of the crush *I* had on Anne Murray!

  5. I just looked all over the internet for my interview with Anne Murray and I can’t find it anywhere. Damn, she told me about a time when she stayed IN ALICE COOPER’S HOUSE while vacationing. (He wasn’t there). They were casual friends on the same label. She was VERY funny.

  6. do you happen to have a copy of your interview with k.d. lang from 4 years ago. i have an arts kd lang forum and would love to hear or read about it. excellent blog btw.

  7. I link to the interview in the blog post

Leave a Reply

