Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Monday morning catch-up

Hello, cuties. I’m sorry I haven’t been hanging out with you the last few days. We’re having our friend Stacy visit from Florida and I’ve also had a lot of writing to do (for work). But, let me get you up to speed. Three things:

(1) On Saturday we spent the day in Baltimore and I fell in love so much with Hampden, its little bohemian area that immediately when we got home, I started looking at apartment ads on Craigslist. Of course, if we moved there, my lady friend would have to take the train into Union Station in Washington D.C. every morning for work, which would take between one and two hours and then she would have to do it again to come home every evening. It’s kind of a lot to ask for one of my admittedly frequent, curious whims. Anyway, Stacy took this picture of me at Edgar Allan Poe‘s grave:

(2) Weren’t you totally freaked out that both Alec Baldwin and Sarah Palin made cameos on Saturday Night Live? I mean, Alec hates her. And he had to do that little cutesy exchange with her. Frankly, I was surprised he agreed to it, but I guess his compromise was not learning the lines and flatly reading them off the cue card – something I have never seen Alec do in his many times as guest host on the show. Anyway, any reservations or icky feelings I was having at the start of the show were obliterated by Amy Poehler‘s Emmy worthy rap during the Weeked Update.

Also: Palin has great television presence. It’s too bad she pimps Fascism in real life.

(3) Go, Devil Rays! I want to congratulate the Tampa Bay Devil Rays for winning last night’s game and becoming a contender in this year’s World Series. I have to admit, either way I would have been happy with the results of last night’s game. Because I spent my childhood in Western Massachusetts, I also have a soft spot for the Boston Red Sox. But, I am hardwired to root for the underdog, and that’s certainly always been the Devil Rays. “Worst to first.” Seems to be a refrain for the sports teams in that area.

I might add: I do think it’s moronic that the team’s handlers felt pressure to eliminate the Devil in their name. It’s the name of a sea animal, people. Again, only in Florida.

Hope your week starts out perfectly.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Monday morning catch-up

  1. 1) You’re definitely way cuter than Edgar!

    2) Frankly, I found Mrs. Palin to be a huge dissapointment. She didn’t really do anything. Hillary was much better on SNL when she stood right next to Amy and “took it like a man”

    3) Go Rays! dropping the “Devil” was just part of their rebirth from being miserably hopeless, and it seems to have worked! Baseball is all about curses and superstitions anyway, right?

    Have a superfantastic excellent week!

  2. oh, one more thing. Even McCain was better on SNL (the whole “let the Dems have 2 candidates” thing was pretty hilarious)

Leave a Reply

