Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Lynda Barry at Politics & Prose

I’m so excited. I just found out that on Friday cartoonist Lynda Barry will discuss and sign her book What It Is at Politics & Prose, an independent bookstore here in D.C.

Barry recently edited Best American Comics 2008, which, coincidentally, I finished reading today. I have a copy of that one, What It Is (thanks to my pal Carrie Waite who gave it to me for my birthday) and Barry’s award-winning graphic novel Cruddy. I’m gonna ask her to sign some or all of them.

I only wish I still had my copies of Come Over, Come Over and My Perfect Life.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Lynda Barry at Politics & Prose

  1. Good news for you, madam. The publisher that released What It Is is going to be reissuing her entire back catalog, so you’ll be able to stock up on those comic gems like “Why are you inviting me to the party haven’t you noticed something for example my one giant ear?” and “RUPTURE!”

    She is one of my #1 all-time inspirations and she is so great to see talk… you’re going to fall right in love with her all over again.

  2. ginavivinetto on said:

    Oh I had forgotten about that “haven’t you noticed something for example my one giant ear?” line. That used to make me laugh uncontrollably.

  3. ginavivinetto on said:

    She was so funny and so wise. I love her even more now. She signed my books and chit chatted with me while the line behind me grew impatient. She gave me some good advice, too, about dealing with creativity blocks, etc.

Leave a Reply

