Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

R.E.M.’s “So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)”

Since I heard R.E.M.‘s “So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)” earlier today on my iTunes shuffle, I can’t get it out of my head. This song and I have a long history. I first heard it when I was 13 and when I tell you it changed my life then and there, I mean it. I ran right into my bedroom and wrote my first song. I also reevaluated my record collection. New Wave bands like Duran Duran and Depeche Mode were pushed aside for R.E.M., The Smiths, and anything else that sounded jangly and had “intense” lyrics.

Here’s the video, which finds lead singer Michael Stipe famously singing live. He was refusing to lip synch back in those days, a promise he kept to himself until, I believe, the “Losing My Religion” video years later. (In a bit of rock folklore, Sinead O’ Connor supposedly taught Stipe how to lip synch. Seems right since Sinead could have won an Academy Award for that moving “Nothing Compares To You” video.)

But I digress.

“So. Central Rain”:

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “R.E.M.’s “So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)”

  1. This song made an impact on me at the same time. I remember the new Van Halen album coming out and then this was different. This wasn’t that show boating thing that rock bands did. This was plaintive and it just hit you in the gut instead of upside your head.

    I was in punk bands and that had shifted from playing Dead Kennedys/Ramones/Violent Femmes/Sex Pistols to Van Halen/Iron Maiden/Thin Lizzy.. and this was different than my adolescent mind could comprehend.

    The vocals just grabbed me. I love this song. I wish I could just write songs like this…

  2. have you ever heard the grant lee phillips cover of this song? it’s not as good as the original but it’s extremely fucking good.

  3. Kevin Croitz on said:

    I adore this song, early Rem ruled, I love their ballady songs more then the rocky ones, I saw them in 89 down in Tampa, we went to our seats looked at them and said screw that and danced all around the stadium all night, my cousin lives in Athens I have to make a pilgrimage down there somepoint, wait Pilgrimage is a great song too. Kevin

Leave a Reply

