Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

My favorite New York styles

I’m still scratching my head over the squeaky clean and boring Us Weekly list of 25 Most Stylish New Yorkers. Where are today’s trendsetters?

Let’s remember some great Manhattan looks from years past, before the city was a wasteland of trust fund kids and fake tans. Shall we?

1960s:

The Velvet Underground with Andy Warhol:

Bob Dylan:

1970s:

New York Dolls:

Woody Allen & Diane Keaton:

Halston, Bianca & Liza:

Richard Hell:

The Ramones:

Patti Smith:

Debbie Harry:

1980s:

Pat Benatar:

Grace Jones:

Run-D.M.C.:

Jean-Michel Basquiat:

Madonna:

Cyndi Lauper:

I’m cutting my list off there because thinking of hip New York fashions from the 1990s is difficult. Things started switching to the Pacific Northwest around then and everyone grew their hair long and wore flannel. Thanks, Kurt Cobain. And Eddie Vedder. Well, actually, NYC’s Beastie Boys also kind of ruled in the 1990s and reminded everyone how cool hoodies (and matching one-piece jumpsuits) were.

In the 2000s, they Yeah Yeah Yeahs restored my faith in New York cool, but then lead singer Karen O. moved to -gasp! – Los Angeles – the most loathsome city on earth.

Is there anybody left in New York who looks edgy and cool? Tell me if there it is, it will make me happy.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “My favorite New York styles

  1. Kevin Croitz on said:

    in the 30’s and 40’s you had Duke Ellington and Lady Day, in the 50’s there was Sinatra, nowadays I’m not sure its all southpole and crappy baggy jeans seems to me, Kevin

  2. Los Angeles is NOT the most loathsome city on Earth – that’s a dumb thing to say. Los Angeles is awesome.

  3. ginavivinetto on said:

    Your opinion changes about a city as soon as you move out of it.

  4. I loved LA when I was living there – I never ever EVER said I didn’t.

  5. Meanwhile, if I had to pick which city is most loathsome – I’d pick Las Vegas. Shame hole. SHAME HOLE.

  6. ginavivinetto on said:

    Well, of course there are cities worse than LA. I just don’t want NY to turn into LA and every time I go, it seems more and more like that’s what’s happening.

  7. Well yes, that is definitely true. I could go on for DAYS about how horrified I am that this place has turned into LA-East. Which it has.

    As to your question regarding whether or not there are edgy and cool people here anymore – sadly, when someone DOES try to look edgy and cool (like Benn, for example) – they get made fun of. What was once a place where you COULD express yourself and look like a freak and people thought, “Wow, that guy is really cool” is just like everyplace else now. I’ve had to scream at tourists and other fuckfaces who mock him openly when we walk down the street. People are idiots.

  8. emmettqaf on said:

    Is Debbie Harry not wearing pants or panties!? Crazy picture.

    I’d have to say I liked the punk era the best. Madonna’s look was born out of that.
    Interesting read on LA; I live in it and find that I love it more and more as I get older–seems like it should be the opposite. However, there’s NOTHING like NY.

  9. Your opinion changes about a city as soon as you move out of it

  10. everyone trying to fit it…

    no one has got their own style… cause they want to sell out real quick cause it pays.

    U used to live in NYC for 15 years, moved to San Francisco, things are goin on down here now!
    😉

  11. j’aime & i

    jaimeandi.com

    really cool nyc band. they had tracks up but took them down for some reason.

  12. New York, LA – pffft – Melbourne, Australia mate – that’s where it’s at! Best music scene ever! (like I’d know)

  13. LMTroch on said:

    Being a former Easterner, I can agree that it really is being all washed out. The only thing I can really think of that would identify me as an Easterner or anyone for that matter would be the accent. You tawk’n de me?!

  14. alex on said:

    has anyone else noticed that Debbie Harry is wearing no undies in her photo?

Leave a Reply

