Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Shirley MacLaine as Chanel

I’m not sure how I feel about legendary goofball Shirley MacLaine playing fashion designer Coco Chanel in Lifetime’s Coco Chanel, which airs this Saturday.

On the one hand, I’m happy to see an older woman get top billing in anything and I definitely think Shirley is a talented actress. And as anyone who knows me will attest, I’ve never shied away from a kook. (Or a health fad).

On the other hand, I was disappointed with Shirley’s recent appearance on The View when it was obvious from her incompetent discussion of her new book (about her latest quack fad) that she had little to do with the writing of it. She came across real bitchy – then again, most of the venom was directed at Elisabeth Hasselbeck, which is entirely reasonable.

By most accounts, Coco Chanel wasn’t the most pleasant woman either. So maybe it’s a good fit. Eh. I might watch. You?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Shirley MacLaine as Chanel

  1. Shirley Maclaine is one of my personal heroes and Karl Lagerfeld singlehandedly destroyed Chanel’s fashion legacy by turning the house into a purveyor of hideous, logo-happy, gaudy trash. Coco would slap his face of if she saw the crap he designs.

  2. ginavivinetto on said:

    Did you go see the Chanel exhibit at the Met? It was really beautiful. I wish it would have been bigger.

  3. I did… I loved her designs and wished it hadn’t been so Lagerfeld-heavy.

  4. ginavivinetto on said:

    Yeah, when you got into his territory, everything was so gauche with the big logos. He’s tacky himself. With the fan and the ponytail.
    Coco’s clothes were understated and really androgynous. And who knew all that tan and black would look so right together? You lady, you.

Leave a Reply

