Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Michael Douglas as Liberace?

In yet another announcement about a biopic of a famous gay man, Variety reports that a movie musical based on flamboyant pop pianist Liberace‘s life is in the works. Stephen Soderbegh will direct. (If you’re keeping track, that’s Harvey Milk, Allen Ginsberg, and Liberace bio-pics, all announced in just the past year. You would think gay men contributed a lot to our culture or something.)

Not to be outdone by Sean Penn and James Franco, who play gay San Francisco politician Milk and his lover, respectively, in Milk, actors Michael Douglas and Matt Damon have signed on to play Liberace and his lover Scott Thorson in the film. Thorson famously sued Liberace for palimony in 1982.

Matt was believable as a gay in 1999’s The Talented Mr. Ripley. But, Michael Douglas as Liberace? I’m going to have to see that to believe it. Oh, and I’ll see it. That’s for damn sure.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Michael Douglas as Liberace?

  1. I think I told you this before, but Liberace was the first performer I ever saw live, at the Bayfront theater with my parents and my grandfather. His opening act juggled running chainsaws and bowling balls.

  2. Kevin Croitz on said:

    I once saw a special on his home in Vegas, the guy had the best bathroom I’ve ever seen, a gold whirlpool, wow

  3. Jody Ghanem on said:

    michael Douglas will be a great liberace and Matt dameon who will play scott is a perfect match. I worked with liberace and introduced me to my husband

Leave a Reply

