Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Allen Ginsberg gets a bio-pic

It was bound to happen and it should happen: the Hollywood Reporter reveals today that Beat Generation poet Allen Ginsberg is getting his own bio-pic.

The movie will chronicle the 1950s obscenity trial of Ginsberg’s Howl. In a move Ginsberg himself would relish, the poet will be played by Hollywood hunk James Franco.

Franco-philes will recall this isn’t the first cultural icon portrayal for the actor. He earned rave reviews in the title role of 2001’s James Dean. He also plays the lover of slain politician Harvey Milk in Gus Van Sant‘s upcoming Milk. Hmmm, Franco plays a lot of gay guys. Is he trying to tell us something?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Allen Ginsberg gets a bio-pic

  1. OMG, I can’t believe that Franco is playing Ginsberg – I’m so excited!!!

  2. emmettqaf on said:

    I’m not so excited. Don’t get me wrong, I like Franco but not for Ginsberg character. I wonder who will play barrel forearms Kerouac and Cassady?
    What I’d love is to see a bio-pic of Neal Cassady

  3. Kevin Croitz on said:

    How about a Bio Pic of Chet Baker, Leonardo DeCaprio would have been good, but he’d have to slim down, and learn to sing or lipsynce, Kevin

  4. This film tried to do a bit too much and in the end lost itself. The animation especially was a bit too “arty” in my view. I don’t think you should ever try to visualize poetry, the moment you do, you undermine it and trivialize it.
    However James Franco is really good in it.

    My full review: http://wp.me/p19wJ2-fH

Leave a Reply

