Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Alec Baldwin: ‘Why me?’ in the New Yorker

There are so many reasons to love Alec Baldwin. He’s smart, he’s sexy, he’s a great actor and hilariously funny – watch one episode of 30 Rock and try not to laugh out loud, especially in scenes like this one, which I still refer to as “the funniest three minutes of television ever”:

Not to mention Alec’s many hilarious turns as guest host of Saturday Night Live. I’ve been a fan since Beetlejuice in the late 1980s.

It’s interesting to note that Alec’s a vegetarian and an animal activist, proving underneath all that hot-headed cynicism, he’s a softy who gets it.

I don’t know what went down between Alec and ex-wife Kim Basinger. Or what happened to instigate that infamous phone rant to his kid. But, if you were shocked by that, you should have spent a weekend at my family home. I would have happily swapped some of the inappropriate epithets my parents and I traded for just one “thoughtless little pig.” (What can I say? My family let it all hang out.)

Anyway, Alec is profiled with a lengthy interview in this month’s New Yorker. You can read it here. It’s a fascinating study of a restless and creative man at mid-life. Alec rhapsodizes on careers he might have had, speculates on what the future holds. He recalls his father’s strict discipline, and, naturally, he discussed his new book chronicling his intense and long legal fight with Basinger. (There had to be some reason press-hating Alec endured an interview). A great read.

I know Alec polarizes people, so whether you love the guy or think he’s an arrogant blowhard, let me know your thoughts.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Alec Baldwin: ‘Why me?’ in the New Yorker

  1. emmettqaf on said:

    I FUCKING LOVE ALEC, even if he can be an ass occasionally (shit I have said so many things in life I wish to take back, mostly to loved ones). Thank you for pointing this article out…what a GREEEEAAAAT read. Especially enjoyed Ian Parkers writing style.
    Not to be outdone by Alec, here’s a gripe for WP. Why can’t WORDPRESS have articles open in a new browser link rather than leaving your page? Come on WORDPRESS provide some options.

  2. emmettqaf on said:

    PS I wonder if he hangs out with INA GARTEN in the Hamptons? How bad could that be?

  3. ginavivinetto on said:

    I love Ina, too. I think she’s beautiful. Lea and I think she and Jeffrey (her nerdy little husband) are fabulous.

  4. Pingback: Alec Baldwin’s classical music dreams come true « Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Leave a Reply

