Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

The magic that was ‘Sassy’

While we’re discussing the merits of the sadly long gone Sassy magazine (see previous post), let’s reminisce with a few more covers from its heyday.
Robert Downey Jr., the first male person on the cover:

A 14-year-old Natalie Portman, (long before Queen Amidala):

Johnny Depp in 1990:

The indie rock darling of the 1990s Juliana Hatfield:

Blossom‘s Mayim Bialik (and the B-52s):

Check out the articles on vegetarianism and foster homes, plus a Sonic Youth giveaway:

The issue demanding to know “Can Anyone on 90120 act?”:

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The magic that was ‘Sassy’

  1. Big surprise, I fuckin’ loved Sassy! Through creative use of the U.S. mails, I got 7 copies of the Sonic Youth giveaway single. It was a cover tune of the New York Dolls’ “Personality Crisis” which Kim G. described as being about the soft, fuzzy schizophrenia of teenage girls.

  2. ginavivinetto on said:

    That’s probably how I ended up with a copy of it on the legendary mixed tape you made me.

  3. I totally had a subscription to Sassy!!!! I wanted to be Jane Pratt so bad.

  4. zsa zsa on said:

    I loved that mag too! had a subscription. saved the flexi disc and have a few copies stashed away
    long live sassy mag!

  5. I loved Sassy!!! I still remember that Robert Downey Jr. issue. I probably sold it at one of our garage sales.
    And I can never use the word sassy without thinking of Phil Hartman. It still makes me sad.
    When did Jane Pratt jump the shark and start having Pamela Anderson in all of her issues of Jane?

Leave a Reply

