Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Carrie Fisher’s ‘Wishful Thinking’

I’m so excited. I just hung up the phone after buying two tickets to see Carrie Fisher‘s one-lady show Wishful Thinking at the Lincoln Theater in D.C. I love Ms. Fisher for her no-nonsense attitude and her wit. I’m excited to see the show especially since I’ve read rave reviews like this one from Entertainment Weekly in 2006.

Here’s Fisher on Craig Ferguson‘s show discussing – as only she can – the details her parents’ break-up, otherwise known in Hollywood lore as the time Eddie Fisher left Debbie Reynolds for Elizabeth Taylor:

Just to be in the same room as one of my lifelong idols will be a bit of a thrill. (Yes, I know she was a raging drug addict for many years – getting through that and being funny about it is one reason I love her.)

The show should be pretty sharp considering Fisher is no stranger to humor writing. (Postcards From the Edge, Delusions of Grandma) And we know from her turns in the Star Wars flicks and movies like When Harry Met Sally and Hannah and Her Sisters – even that guest spot on 30 Rock – that she’s a good actress. I have argued many times that Princess Leia and Han Solo were my generation’s Hepburn and Tracy.

I can’t wait. I hope she talks about being married to Paul Simon and doing drugs with John Belushi. What a night this should be!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Carrie Fisher’s ‘Wishful Thinking’

  1. Princess Leia is sassy and I love her with all my heart.

Leave a Reply

