Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

The Onion’s A.V. Club interviews Woody Allen

A lot of my feminists friends question my devotion to Woody Allen, but they can kiss it. Woody’s my favorite American film maker. If you, like me, would rather spend two hours in a dark theater with a movie of Woody’s than do anything else, you might want to check out Mr. Allen’s recent interview with The Onion’s A.V. Club.


I wasn’t too shocked to learn that Woody never watches a picture once he’s done with it. I think many artists and writers (myself included) could learn from his ability to not get caught up in nostalgia:

That’s a pleasure I deny myself, because then you get into nostalgic self-involvement, and I don’t think that would be good for me. I don’t like to reminisce much, and my walls don’t have photographs of me and the actors I was with, or any of that stuff. If you were in my house in New York, you wouldn’t know I was in the movie business. It just looks like a regular house, like the home of a lawyer or something, and I try and keep that disciplined, and just work. There are so many traps you can get into, and looking back on your own work is certainly one of them.

However, Woody’s pessimistic attitude about love kind of saddened me. He didn’t have very positive things to say about love and you can read into that what you will. Of course, he’s discussing love in the context of his current film Vicky Christina Barcelona, but it sure seems like the man whose characters – and, let’s face it, who himself – always recklessly chased love has concluded that, in the end, true love is effusive.

But, maybe I’m reading too much into his answers. Tell me if I am .

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Onion’s A.V. Club interviews Woody Allen

  1. I love him. I still need to see this film.

  2. I love Woody Allen movies myself, to me he is the essential New Yorker. His earlier work outshines his later work, but you still get the flashes of brilliance. In my art and in my life nostalgia plays a vital role, it connects me with my past, and my loves in the past, and I think helps me forge a more brilliant art for the future. Nostalgia doesnt have to be a trap, it can be a wonderful tool to help you learn more about yourself. For example I found some pictures of a stream up in the Catskills, that I took from back in 1993, I painted two oil on canvases from them, and captured the quiet solitude of that misty drizzely day from so long ago, that it almost brought me back to that day, in a kind of Proustian effect. Its important to use all the tools in art, and nostalgia should be one of them, you cant escape from the love of the past, and Woody shouldnt try either. Kevin

Leave a Reply

