Gina Vivinetto’s Greatest Hits

Celebrities who collect art

After posting earlier about Metallica drummer and art collector Lars Ulrich, I started to think about other celebrities who are avid art collectors. With the art market seemingly immune to the country’s financial woes, a painting by a well-known artist is often a profitable place to store your money.

Here are some more celebrities who collect art and whose art they have purchased. See if the art they like says something about their personalities. (Most of this information gathered from Nicholas Forrest‘s terrific Art Market Blog):

Steve Martin is my hero not only because of his awesome sense of humor, he has an extensive art collection that includes the work of Picasso, William de Kooning, Georgia O’ Keefe, Cy Twombly, Franz Kline, and Roy Lichtenstein. (I’m pretty sure in another life Steve and I were married).

Victoria Beckham: Damien Hirst.

Charlton Heston: Andrew Wyeth

Steven Spielberg: Norman Rockwell

Elton John : Damien Hirst, Picasso, Francis Bacon, David Hockney, Andy Warhol, Julian Schnabel, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Nan Goldin, Henri Matisse, Diane Arbus, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Man Ray, Helmut Newton, Alfred Stieglitz, Sam Taylor-Wood.

Jack Nicholson: Jack Vettriano.

Madonna: Frida Kahlo, Damien Hirst, Ferdinand Leger, Picasso

Jane Fonda, Robbie Williams and Hugh Grant: Andy Warhol

Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt: Banksy

Elizabeth Taylor: Vincent Van Gogh

David Bowie: Balthus, Graham Sutherland.

Does any of this surprise you? Do you know of others?

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Celebrities who collect art

  1. Don’t forget about Diane Keaton and her crazy obsession with clown art!
    The Andy Warhol Museum had an exhibit.

  2. ginavivinetto on said:

    Oh that’s right. Isn’t that weird that she likes those paintings? Remember when Johnny Depp used to buy Gacy’s paintings? At least Diane buys benign clowns – well, for you no clown is benign.

  3. I don’t sell my paintings by the yard!

  4. Kevin Croitz on said:

    I finally got to see a DeKooning, I saw it down in the St Petersburg Fine Arts Museum, an excellent museum, great variety, from greek sculpture, to Cezzane, to glasswork, to african wood art, really a nice place to spend an afternoon, the Dekooning was paint on a laquered newspaperedboard, it gave me some nice ideas about utilizing found objects into my art, 1950’s Ny art is where its at, Kevin

  5. zsa zsa on said:

    when I was 14 I did a slide presentation of steve martins “the cruel shoes” and sync it up to the record. I used my friends as the actors. I still have it. my teacher didnt know what to think , but I passed. ha ha.
    I LOVE YOUR BLOG

  6. I have gone through your site and it’s looks great. I am a professional freelance artist who produces collage works, portriats of all kinds; house portraits, pet portriats and actual human portriats. I really do design these portriats with clocks fixed in them to be hanged in bedrooms, sitting rooms, Halls etc. I also make designs that could be reproduced for textile prints like curtains, beedsheets, table clothes, napkins etc. I am really looking for buyers , collectors especially celebrities for their portriats to be done so if you can help me get contracts. Thanks

    Benjamin.
    Mob: 0044905719958.

  7. Dennis Hopper is a huge collector and artist, he got turned onto the art scene by Vincent Price.

  8. Indigenous Art supporter on said:

    Hi there, am blogging all the way from Perth Western Australia and am keen to know which celebrities are indigenous (aborignal) Australian art collectors. Am fundraising to build a new art gallery planned for the University I work for to house the thousands of artworks we currently have no room for.
    Any information you can share is most welcome.

  9. Who is Bansky? Do you mean Banksy?

  10. I think art is one of the best investments you can make, because unlike the stock market, you can you enjoy the aesthetics of a fine art painting.

  11. Deric Barner on said:

    Do you know how I can personally get in touch with Lars Ulrich, Ozzy Osbourne or any rocker that collects art. I have a amazing, beyond belief photo of a snake and pentagram created by cloud formation or by some other unknown source. I’m not talking about some fluffy, cartoon image. This image looks like it could have been created by human hand. It’s that detailed. It is truly a one of a kind, priceless photo and I was extremely lucky to capture it. Any rocker who is in to art will definitely want something like this in their collection. Let me just state that the photo is 1000% genuine, my wife can verify this. Any test administered by machine will undoubtedly support this claim. I hope you can help me with my request. Thank you.

  12. Whom amongst the celebrities collects World War II art?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

